Chapter 310: The After Wake procession. Part 2-3.

(The phone rings as Rory and Lorelai walk in their front door.)

LORELAI: Hello.

EMILY: I’ve been trying to get you all afternoon.

LORELAI: Mom?

EMILY: Yes.

LORELAI: Hi.

EMILY: You already said that.

LORELAI: But someone hasn’t.

EMILY: Hello.

LORELAI: There we go.

EMILY: You are impossible to reach.

LORELAI: Well there’s no messages on the machine, Mom.

EMILY: I don’t leave messages. If I wanted to talk to a machine I’d talk to my VCR. Where were you?

LORELAI: At a wake.

EMILY: A what?

LORELAI: A wake…a funeral.

EMILY: A funeral? Whose?

LORELAI: It was for the neighbors’ —

(Rory motions Lorelai not to say it.)

LORELAI: — cat.

(Lorelai mouths ‘what?’ Emily doesn’t say anything.)

LORELAI: Mom?

EMILY: Hold on. I’m looking up anyuresm in our medical dictionary to see if I just had one.

LORELAI: I just wanted to be honest with you, Mom. Silly me.

EMILY: A cat?

LORELAI: Yeah, a cat. It was a cat’s funeral.

EMILY: You skipped your own cousin’s funeral for a cat’s funeral?

LORELAI: Not my cousin, mom. My father’s grandmother’s sister’s girl who I’ve never —

EMILY: You said you couldn’t be away from the inn.

LORELAI: Well I couldn’t at the time bt I worked it out.

EMILY: For a cat?

LORELAI: It’s late. I have a big day tomorrow, Mom.

EMILY: Oh, what? You’re going to a racoon’s wedding?

LORELAI: Good-night, Mother.

EMILY: Good-night.

(Lorelai hangs up.)

LORELAI: Aaagh! She’s working for a sedative manufacturer. Keeping that demand sky-high.

RORY: You shouldn’t have told her.

LORELAI: Well I don’t know what to tell and what to hide.

RORY: Yeah.

LORELAI: So we never did quite settle the whole dating-your-teacher issue. I won’t go out with him if you don’t want me to.

RORY: You can go out with whoever you want.

LORELAI: It’s whoever we want.

RORY: Well I’m certainly not going to go out with him ’cause that would be really weird.

LORELAI: But I mean it. I won’t see him if you don’t want me to.

RORY: Huh.

LORELAI: You know, if there’s anything that makes you feel uncomfortable, big or small, then he’s out of there.

RORY: Good to know.

LORELAI: Because you know it’s not like I’m desperate. I mean, there are plenty of other guys out there.

RORY: Sure are.

LORELAI: And it’s not like I have to ask your permission. I mean, this is a courtesy.

RORY: OK.

(Rory goes into her room and closes the door. On the other side of the door, Lorelai raises her voice to be heard.)

LORELAI: OK, so I’m going to be up for a while, if you want to get back to me on this.

RORY: I know where you are.

(Lorelai starts to leave. Rory opens the door and sticks her head out.)

RORY: Hey, do you think you could keep him out really late on Thursday night because I have this oral exam on Friday that I’d really love him to sleep through.

LORELAI: I’ll do my best.

Leave a Reply

