Chapter 249: Home scene Fight and no one’s delight.

(A Parent to parent heart to heart)

LORELAI’S HOUSE

Rory enters and slams the front door. Lorelai follows her inside.

Dinah and her Daughters follow right after with Janie, Alex and Charlene feeling just the same as Rory.

LORELAI: This is about a boy, of course. I can’t believe I didn’t see it. All this talk about money and bus rides. You got a thing going with a guy and you don’t want to leave school.

Dinah: You girls have got something for some guys. That’s what all this is about. Isn’t it? That’s what this whole change of heart is about. It is all because of a guy. 3 guys actually. One for each of you girls.

RORY: I’m going to bed.

Janie: Yeah. Just let us be. We don’t want to talk about it.

Charlene: Amen. So… do the favor of just dropping the matter.

LORELAI: God, I’m so dense. That should have been my first thought. After all, you’re me.

RORY: I’m not you.

LORELAI: Really? Someone willing to throw important life experiences out the window to be with a guy. It sounds like me to me.

RORY: Whatever.

Dinah: I grew up rather like someone who wasn’t all into guys. I was a tough girl. Gutsy and full of punch. But then i met Shingo and that just all changed right from the Jump. I felt love for the first time… for any guy… Relationship wise…

Alex: That’s you. Not us. So don’t even go there with us. We are not than foolhardy and for you to try and shake us down or peg us as callous dopes… really shows how narrow you sound.

LORELAI: So who is he?

RORY: There’s no guy!

Dinah: Are these guys hot to trot and with seducing romantic eyes. Dark sleek hair that shines like a serenade. Are they with a little wild side to them?

Janie: Ugh! No! Plus… there isn’t any guy. There’s nobody. There is no guy.

LORELAI: Dark hair, romantic eyes? Looks a little dangerous?

RORY: This conversation is over.

LORELAI: Tattoos are good, too!

Dinah: The guys better be with an irresistible swagger.

Alex: Look… get it through your head, mom. Stop trying to re-enact a skit from the soap Opera: “Days of our lives”.

RORY: I don’t want to change schools because of all the reasons I’ve already told you a thousand times. If you don’t want to believe me, that’s fine. Goodnight. *goes to her bedroom* Come on, Janie… girls. let’s leave our mom’s alone with their own delirium.

LORELAI: Does he have a motorcycle? ‘Cause if you’re gonna throw your life away, he better have a motorcycle!

Janie, Alex and Charlene join Rory in her bedroom…

Lorelai walks into Rory’s bedroom…

Dinah follows…

LORELAI: Well, I think that went pretty well, don’t you?

Dinah: We should have had at least brought along a camera and have some popcorn and drinks. to savor the deal.

RORY: Thanks for the knock.

LORELAI: Listen, can we just start all over, okay? You tell me all about the guy and I promise not to let my head explode, huh? Rory, please talk to me. *silence* Okay, I’ll talk. Don’t get me wrong. Guys are great. I am a huge fan of guys. You don’t get knocked up at sixteen being indifferent to guys. But, babe, guys are always going to be there. This school isn’t. It’s more important. It has to be more important.

Dinah: Girls, I am not trying to rain on your secret parade. I really am not. I know that you girls are growing up and are getting into guys a little. *Sitting on the end of the bed and facing her daughters* I am all for that. I don’t think there is anything wrong with that. However… you have your whole lives ahead of you. It just barely started. I got Wed while in college. Got pregnant on my last year of high school… Gone through the turmoil of romance and hardship. I know what it’s like. I almost didn’t graduate High school because of the pregnancy and almost didn’t go to college. However… I had a whole lot of help. I got through it because of that. However… times are different. They’re not the same as they were back then. Guys… They’re always gonna be there. Always. This school. It won’t. It may be in reach today… gone and a memory tomorrow.

RORY: I’m going to sleep.

Janie: That goes double for us.

Alex: Yeah. All this talk about there being guys in the world and being served a Morality sermon. I think that a golf club to the head would have been more in order.

Charlene: *Emitting frost; giving off a sign to hint at telling their mom to back off*

LORELAI: Rory. You’ve always been the sensible one in this house, huh? I need you to remember that feeling now. You will kick your own butt later if you blow this.

Dinah: This school is one of the things that you girls have always wanted. To go big. Do something substantial and Ironclad. You 3 used to be so darn sensitive as well. Charlene, You were practically the most sensitive person in the family normally. It has to mean something to you girls. You’ve got to think about this and remember that feeling. You 3 will only kick yourselves in the backside for it later.

RORY: Well, it’s my butt.

Alex: It’s our own butt. we can kick it if we feel like it.

LORELAI: Good comeback.

Dinah: A fast rebuttal. But a good comeback.

RORY: Thank you.

Charlene: Much appreciated.

Dinah: No prob…

LORELAI: You’re welcome. Rory, come on.

RORY: I don’t want to talk about this. Could you please, please just leave me alone?

Janie: Mom… Please just drop it. Okay? We don’t wish to talk about it anymore. We are tired. Just leave us alone… Alright?

LORELAI: Okay, fine. We always had a democracy in this house. We never did anything unless we both agreed. But now I guess I’m going to have to play the mom card. You are going to Chilton whether you want to or not. Monday morning, you will be there, end of story.

Dinah: Same coming from me. You girls are going. I dealt with alot coming from you 3. You changed your minds about alot of things as you didn’t like the idea that your lives that you were used to… would just change a little more than what you’d like. They never cost alot of money. Ever. This does. I have given you 3 so much space and freedom. I even saw that with you 3… we’d be like pals. *Scoffs in disbelief and rather disgusted* But you know what? You 3 want me to show my Parental card and be the strict mom… So be it. Monday morning… You 3 are gonna go to Chilton whether you want to… or not. Monday morning… You’re going and will be there. End of story. The End.

RORY: We’ll see.

Charlene: Wanna bet on that rule?

LORELAI: Yeah, we will.

Dinah: Yeah. I do bet. But it isn’t a bet. It’s a guarantee. You’ll see. You think that i’m playing around with this? Guess again. Playtime is over.

Lorelai slams the door on her way out. Dinah joins along with Lorelai. Rory turns on her CD player. Macy Gray’s I Try plays. Lorelai and Dinah go to the living room and turn on the same song. Or do they?

Janie, Alex and Charlene happened to turn on their portable CD Player and played Their Empire of the Sun CD.

Rory heard the music and suddenly got captivated by the tune…

Music Plays in the background and from the CD player…

“Is there a part of me, that’s part of you?
If I shed a tear, baby do you bleed?
Is there a part of me that goes to you?
Is there a part to you I haven’t seen

Give it up and I don’t know why
You are my horizon
I just wanted you
Will I show you a part is over me?
In my life
In my life
In my life

Movement slows
Awakening, in me in me
Awakening
Movement slows
Awakening, in me in me
Awakening

Crystal sparks when I spotted you
Ricocheting colours in a cavalcade
Eye of the storm is a part of you
The Empire’s sun the eternal flame

Give it up and I don’t know why
You are my horizon
I just wanted you
Will I show you a part is over me?
In my life
In my life
In my life

Movement slows
Awakening, in me in me
Awakening
Movement slows
Awakening, in me in me
Awakening

Awakening
Awakening

If I climb away before I do that
Yes I’ll hide away from a dream yeah
That’s a place we were from here
That’s a place that’s far from here

Movement slows
Awakening, in me in me
Awakening
Movement slows
Awakening, in me
Awakening

Awakening”

Outside Lorelai’s house a moment later…

Front patio…

Dinah: *Handing Lorelai a cup of coffee* here you go.

Lorelai: Thanks. *Sighs* … *Holding the cup of coffee* I can’t believe that i just fought with my daughter. Of all things for a mother to do. I had to go and fight with my own kid.

Dinah: How do you think i feel. I usually never see myself fighting with my kids either. At least… Not like this.

Lorelai: But… Dinah. My Rory and I are like best buds. We’re like a brand of sisters and have the kind of relationship that is more like best friend status and sister status than Mother Daughter status as she and I would be so equal on everything.

Dinah: I know how you happen to feel about the whole thing. It was like that between my oldest daughters. Sapphire, Raven and Serena. They would at times get out of line during their moments of growing up. But at the end of the day… they would come and seek for a peace offering. Raven however got really huffy once. Years ago.

Dinah flashes back with a memory…

“Dinah: *Walking to find her daughter after deciding the truth needed to be told, and found Raven sitting on the steps* Darling. i know you’re mad with me for not telling you the truth from the beginning but i want you to know something..

Raven: *Angry and annoyed* Oh yeah?! And what would that be? Where do you want to start? would it be the part where i seem to be harboring a secret inside me that i didn’t know was there…. or how about the part where i am now with the confession from grandmother that i am now not just a freak… but a Super freak. Oh i know… why not tell me about why i now feel betrayed and kept in the dark about my normal life being no more than a sham? Let’s start there, Mom.

Dinah: *Sitting down next to Raven* Yes Raven, it’s true. you do have super powers and you are a super hero. i didn’t tell you about it and let you think you were normal because i wanted to protect you as a mother would for her child… but having powers and being a super hero doesn’t make you a super freak. you know that, don’t you?

Raven: *Getting up and Then turning to face her mother* The right thing for who mom? You should have told me. for 14 years i had this unknown secret and you knew about it… but yet you wanted to what was it that you said… “Let you think that you were normal”… You wanted to let me think i was normal when i was not normal at all. You were probably just waiting for me to spaz out and have a embarrassing moment and i out of nowhere freak myself out by shooting up power that is far from normal before you would tell me about it, Right? Because it sure as heck seems like it to me.

Dinah: *Sighs and stands up again* Raven please don’t be like this. i am sorry for not telling you sooner and yes i should have told you but you must understand my reasons behind not telling you straight away… you were already not feeling normal and if you had been told about the powers you would have thought of yourself as a super freak. i didn’t want to put you in that situation…

Raven: Well… living with a mother who would hide something like this from me… scares me… *Heading to her Room*

A Minute later…

Dinah: *Feeling really guilty about hiding something like that from her daughter, and she walks to Raven’s room knocking on the door* Can i come in for a minute?

Raven: If you want to… I am just really unhappy being lied to. but it’s something that i’ll have to get over… *Brushing her hair a little*

Dinah: *Opening the door and walking in, closing the door again behind her* You have every right to be mad with me. i should have told you the truth from the beginning, it’s just that you’re my daughter and the last thing i want is for you is to be unhappy…

Raven: Well what did you think i was gonna respond with after finding out that i was being lied to? Did you believe in your right mind that i was gonna be all happy go tickly over the news? Newsflash… Mom… Just because you’re a hero… Thunder Mistress. and no demeaning what you had done for years… you made it all work. You’re good at being the “In your face, Back off my case” persona and not take bull from anyone spewing the bull. You told Sapphire and Serena that they had abilities. and they’re fine with it… of course Sapphire was always on the fast track to the hero line. She takes to it like Caffeine to a Junkie on a fix… But you kept it from me. Lied to me about it and told me that i was normal… when you knew in your heart that i wasn’t. You have any idea how damaging that is to someone like me? Living one life and thinking that the life that you were following was the only life you knew only to then later find that you have another life and should have been told of it from the beginning but had to find out the hard way from someone else who even though was family… had no room to bring up something that a mother should have told their daughters. but yet… Did not… Do you even know what that is doing to me… i don’t even know if i was really living the right life anymore. Everything up till now has been shown as a total lie.

Dinah: It’s not as simple as that. when i first became a hero it wasn’t easy for me either as i struggled with it when i was first told and i felt like a super freak as well, when i was younger, like maybe 12 years old i hated wearing skirts and if someone was to ever say to me: “Hey Dinah, you look cute in that skirt” i would have just exploded and blow up. but as time went past i grew to love them slowly. i have been the loose wire for most of my life that if anyone messed with anyone in the family i would let them have it and i still do…

Raven: Well… I guess that i should understand. but in honest opinion… i don’t feel protected… you try living a life like mines that makes you feel like being one person… for as long as you can remember or recall… then in five minutes… find out that you’re someone else that is not like the one you thought you were made to be… *Sighs and growls as she waves her hand and gets a little edgy* Just in case… i didn’t feel like a freak already… *Snaps with anger* Why not we just add a nickname to me… Like Raven, The “Super Freak”?!

Suddenly…

Raven: *Sitting down* I’m sorry. I just feel so conflicted. i don’t know what to even think or say. What kind of hero would i even be if i were really this hero that you and the others all believe that i am?

Dinah: *Understanding Raven’s anger* I understand your anger and i know this is hard for you.. but don’t worry. i promise i will help you through this and i’ll teach you everything i know about being a hero.

Raven: That would help… because… this whole guise of my living a life that is a lie… it’s not fair for me… So… if there are things to learn about being a hero… showing them would help. *Groans as she then collapses onto her bed* This is gonna be a total nightmare. How am i gonna learn the ropes of being a hero? i don’t know anything about being a hero… i don’t feel worthy to even be one.”

Dinah: She was just a bundle of nerves over that.

Lorelai: Did she ever fight with you?

Dinah: A few times… But that was because i deserved it. I betrayed her a couple times and it was as if i was invading her space.

Lorelai: That would anger any kid. Rory and i never had that sort of problem. She and I always came to one another for anything. We would speak about anything. Everything.

Dinah: That’s what my daughters would be like with one another. Sometimes the discussions would get pretty big that at times it’d catch my attention and i’d get into it.

Lorelai: I sure wish Rory was better than that. She’s head strong and assertive. Sensitive. But sometimes… can be so stubborn.

Dinah: As can you be. I have seen the way you transferred words towards Rory. Not exactly the most gentle and subtle. However… you were pushed into pulling out the Mom card. We both were.

Lorelai: You suppose that we may have been rather wrong on the way we handled it?

Dinah: *Sighs* Lorelai… It isn’t anything of that nature. In parenting… There is never an easy way of raising kids. Or an easy way of handling typical situations such as these. All one can do… is just do the best they can. trust their guts and do whatever it is that they feel happens to be right. The only problem is… every decision… doesn’t go without a complication. You… are a single mother. You raised Rory on your own for most of the over-zealous ride. With help with selected others. Memorable. Me… I raised 9 kids. 9. 6 biologically with a husband. 3 Adopted… but still loved just the very same and with all the care and love in the world. One of the biological kids though was disowned. She caused too much pain. Sakura took up smoking and turned into a Diaper lover. Something that i don’t tolerate in my household.

Lorelai: Wow… *Scoffs; shocked* Dinah… you are really self prideful. You are with 9 kids. 3 are adopted… one biological daughter disowned and deemed as unruly. Forget the cheesy music #. You should be put in league with the super mom brigade.

Dinah: Lorelai… It is true. You’re single… And are still holding tough and holding strong. With one Daughter. Holding on for her and raising her as best you can. But all the while using the guise of being like her best friend. Her pal and setting it to where you and her play it as though you’re like sisters. That’s highly commendable. Although… one has got to ask. Where’s the father to Rory? Clearly… she does have a father. I mean… in most cases… it does take two to tango in the procreating process.

Lorelai: I don’t know. Rory and I haven’t seen him in years. We don’t know where he resides. Last we heard any little snippets of him… He was somewhere in California. But beyond that… I really haven’t a clue.

They continue to talk throughout the next couple hours of the night before they decided to turn in for the night as well. But both still felt awful and terrible over the fight that they had both had with their daughters. Lorelai with Rory and Dinah with her 3 girls. What was gonna happen next? Would the girls make amends with their mother or would the tension go on? Find out in the next chapter of the Adventures of the Rhapsody Girls Z! As the saga continues…

Leave a Reply

