Chapter 246: Metropolis High in the last degree for the Rhapsody Trio and Rory.

(A meet with a few guys go for a wrench in the works)

As for Rory, Janie, Alex and Charlene…

Rory is cleaning out her locker with Lane…

Janie, Alex and Charlene were a few feet away…

RORY: And we get to wear uniforms. No more having people check you out to see what jeans you’re wearing ’cause everyone’s dressed alike in boring clothes and just there to learn.

LANE: Okay, there’s academic-minded and then there’s Amish.

They start walking down the hallway. Rory is carrying a box full of books and papers.

Janie: *Suddenly walking over with her sisters Alex and Charlene* Hey Rory. Lane.

RORY: Funny. *Looking to see Janie and her sisters* Hey Janie, Alex… Charlene.

LANE: Thank you! So I told my mom you guys were changing schools.

Janie: You did? Is that a good thing?

Alex: News spread well. *Grins*

RORY: Was she thrilled?

LANE: The party’s on Friday.

Charlene: Naturally. *Scoffs* It would figure that she’d be pleased. Lane… we feel sorry for you. Your mom doesn’t let you be you. Let you embrace the aura of a typical teenager.

Janie: She thinks that every custom in america just about is like the devil and harbors dark intentions. She makes Margaret White out to be a saint.

Lane: *Chuckles* no denying that logic. But for better or worse. She’s my mom. It sucks that she suppresses my wanting to endure the American customs and the thrill of western world civilization.

Alex: You’ve got to find some way to stand up to her. Somehow. You have rights. Whether she happens to believe it or not or whether she likes it or not… You have rights.

Lane: There’s no argument there. But… don’t worry. I have my ways of ensuring that i have at least some taste of American customs. I am sneaky. *Nods* … *Starting to head off* I gotta go. I have to have a pre-hayride cup of tea with a future doctor.

Alex: Yeah. One that your mom set you up with… we’ll bet. *Sighs*

Lane: It’s no mystery. How do I look? Korean?

RORY: Spitting image.

Charlene: Picture perfect.

LANE: Good. Bye.

RORY: Bye.

Lane leaves. Rory drops a book and some papers. Charlene loses grip of the box she was carrying that had her books and belongings inside and it spills a little onto the ground…

As she bends down to pick them up, she turns and sees a guy standing right beside her. It’s the same guy who watched her and Lane walk into the school a few days earlier. Of course… there were 3 other guys there close by. Which turned out to be the same 3 that were watching the girls.

RORY: God! You’re like Ruth Gordon just standing there with a tannis root. Make a noise.

Janie: *With Alex and Charlene; Looking at the 3 guys standing there* You guys must be like hawks standing to voyeur and bide the time before pouncing on the prey. Make a noise or something. Let off a flare.

DEAN: Rosemary’s Baby.

Keith Lerner
Keith Lerner

Keith: *Clearing his throat* Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 491.

Gregori Sherman.

Gregori: Steven King’s Hearts in Atlantis.

Peter Hollister

Peter: Richard Castle- Heat Wave.

RORY: Yeah.

DEAN: Well, that’s a great movie. You’ve got good taste. *silence* Are you moving?

RORY: No, just my books are.

Janie: I… uh. Yeah. Why?

Keith: That book is rather interesting. I like it. I read it at least 14 times already. It keeps getting better each time as each time you read it… you pick up something that you haven’t before.

Alex: It is.

Peter: Heatwave’s a good book. I am a Richard castle fan myself. Got most of his books and 4 of them on a Kindle account. You have good Book picking ability. You know good books when you see it.

Charlene: Hearts in Atlantis… Yeah. That’s the book i’m reading. But… how did you know?

Gregori: Hearts in Atlantis is interesting. I like the read. You do know that they made a movie for it. An adapted movie for Hearts in Atlantis… right?

DEAN: My family just moved here from Chicago.

RORY: Chicago. Windy. Oprah.

Keith: My family just moved here from Battle Creek, Michigan.

Gregory: My family just moved here from Hackensack, New Jersey.

Peter: My family moved here from Forks, Washington.

DEAN: Yeah. Yeah, that’s the place. I’m Dean.

Keith: I’m Keith.

Peter: The Name’s Peter.

Gregory: I’m Gregory.

RORY: Hi. *silence* Oh, Rory. Me. That’s — that’s me.

Janie: I’m Janie. However… i recently got thought to be Janie Jones. But… I’m Janie Rhapsody.

Alex: I’m Alex. Full name usually is Alexandra. But only my mom would get to call me by that. However… that is only when i am in trouble.

Charlene: I’m uh… Charlene.

DEAN: Rory.

RORY: Well, Lorelai technically.

DEAN: Lorelai. I like that.

RORY: It’s my mother’s name, too. She named me after herself. She was lying in the hospital thinking about how men name boys after themselves all the time, you know, so why couldn’t women? She says her feminism just kind of took over. Though personally I think a lot of Demerol also went into that decision. I never talk this much.

DEAN: Well, I better go.

RORY: Oh, sure.

Keith: I’ve been only in this city a week. The house is still full of boxes and my family’s still trying to unpack.

Peter: My family’s just got done unpacking yesterday. We had a lot of boxes. *Rubbing his neck* Here for the long haul.

Gregory: My family’s been here for a couple weeks. It’s been slow going. However… Metropolis has been treating my family right. Allowing for us to get a stable footing around in this city. My parent’s have found Jobs here. Or transferred their business over to this City. My mom’s a consultant for the Local News station. My dad’s a Lawyer. Although… I have to go and find a Job.

DEAN: I have to go look for a job.

RORY: Okay, good.

Janie: You have to find a Job…

Keith: Yeah. Don’t know who’ll hire me though. I am probably better off just doing odd Jobs.

Dean starts to leave…

RORY: You should check with Miss Patty.

DEAN: *turns back* What?

Janie: Who? What do you mean, Rory? Who’s Miss Patty.

RORY: About the job. You should check with Miss Patty. She teaches dance. She was actually on Broadway once. Oh… *Looking at Janie, Alex and Charlene* Miss Patty is the Local Dance teacher. An informer in some sense. Almost equivalent to Taylor Doose. They see all… they know all.

DEAN: I. . .I don’t really dance much.

RORY: No, no, she just kind of knows everything that’s going on in town. She’ll know if someone’s looking.

Janie: Sounds like a reliable outlet. A very reliable outlet.

Alex: Right.

Keith: Do you think that she’ll be able to find us a job?

Alex: If you’re that into finding a Job… Let’s all go and see this Miss Patty. But if not her… There might be someone who scrounges around and catches things from time to time.

Rory: I am sure that she’ll know of something.

DEAN: Oh, great. Uh, thanks. Hey, what are you doing now?

RORY: Nothing…much. I should throw this away at some point.

DEAN: Well, maybe you could show me where this Miss Patty’s place is.

RORY: Yeah, I guess so. I really don’t have anything important to. . .let’s go.

Charlene: Let’s try her… then try someone we know.

Rory: Who?

Alex: Zoey Creek. her and Erica Harper… “Cowgirl” Erica Harper. They’re informants to the clan. They’re always with their eyes and ears open. If there’s anyone looking for a Job. They’ll know. No lie.

They walk out of the school and down the street. Dean carries Rory’s box of books for her.

DEAN: So, have you lived here all your life?

RORY: Yes. Well, pretty much. I was actually born in Hartford.

Janie: We lived in this city… all our lives. Our biological lives were in Independence, Missouri. Our birth parents ditched us and left us at the St. Louise’s Orphanage. Which was run by a dark lady. Granny Goodness. However we issued complaints and had that place shutdown. But whether that building is under operation or not… we don’t know. But last we checked… that place was abandoned.

DEAN: Well, that’s not far.

RORY: Thirty minutes with no traffic.

DEAN: Really?

RORY: I timed it.

DEAN: Okay, then.

The 3 girls spoke with the guys as Rory spoke with Dean…

They walk past the bakery…

RORY: So, do you like cake?

DEAN: What?

RORY: They make really good cakes here. They’re very…round.

DEAN: Okay, I’ll remember that.

RORY: Good. Make a note. You wouldn’t want to forget where the round cakes are.

Alex: Don’t mention food. You’re making us hungry.

Peter: I wouldn’t mind a Cake… every now and then. I am kinda a sucker for Carrot cake. However… my mom sees me as a little bit of a rabbit. I used to munch on carrots like a ravenous wolf when i was little.

Gregory: Not me. Give me a Fudge Brownie or Maybe Ice cream cake anyday. Typical cake… I could really go without. That’s just me.

Keith: What about you, Janie? What do you fancy?

hsm-3-disneyscreencaps.com-2162

Janie: Not sure. I usually stick to Fudge Brownies and Zingers. Maybe Twinkies. But that’s for just snacking. Unless it is with my parents… then it’s Marshmallows and Ice cream Sundaes. Root beer floats.

Peter: What about you, Alex? What’s your favorite snack of favor?

Alex: I don’t know… Uh… Reese’s Peanut butter cups. Anything with peanut butter in it. The Peanut butter ice cream. They have Peanut butter Chocolate Ice cream. I kinda love that one. I think that i tried the other week. A large one. The other week… we had this killer heat spell going around and it was blistering hot. We almost couldn’t cool off enough to make it through the heat wave.

Gregory: Charlene… I don’t think that asking you about what your desert or snack of choice would be… is gonna be right. I believe that you could make anything a frozen treat with the chill factor that you let out. *Shivering*

Charlene: *On guard* What would make you think that?

Gregory: Nothing. However… I kinda sense that vibe from you. It isn’t anything bad… I actually admire that. You possibly have the kicks of being like a meta-human or a super heroic being.

Charlene: Do i even know where you’re going with this? *Estranged*

Gregory: I read this information book… Something called Superheroes and the World weekly. One of the things it says is that you can tell if you’re around a hero when you happen sense a feeling of mystery. Secrecy. That heroes primarily will deny to the letter that they’re heroes because 1. they don’t want to be put on the pedestal and sire to seek a sort of normal life. 2. they have people that they care deeply about and don’t want it known that they’re heroes for the sake of ensuring that their friends and family are kept out from harms path.

Charlene: So… you think that i am… a hero. You can tell from that?

Gregory: Kinda. But… it’s all good. It’s kinda cool.

DEAN: So, how are you liking Moby Dick?

RORY: Oh, it’s really good.

DEAN: Yeah?

RORY: Yeah, it’s my first Melville.

DEAN: Cool.

RORY: I mean, I know it’s kind of cliché to pick Moby Dick as your first Melville but. . .hey, how did you know I was reading Moby Dick? Besides the fact that Janie, Alex and Charlene… plus their cousin’s Zoey and Blossom already know as they stated that they noticed me and caught that i was reading the book.

DEAN: Uh, well, I’ve been watching you.

RORY: Watching me?

Alex: That’s kinda awkward. You know.

Peter: How do you like the book Heat Wave? Ever read it before?

Alex: No. Not really. But i really am finding the book to be quite captivating. It’s as of right now… one of the first Richard Castle books that i’ve read. My mom doesn’t even realize that i read a book such as this. The last book that she recalls me ever reading is the book from this Author V.C Andrews.

Peter: That’s really weird. But… i guess that weird does manage to pass off as the new normal. I can tell that you’re like really brainy.

Alex: Not really. Just potentially driven.

Rory: *To Dean* So… You’ve been watching me?

DEAN: I mean, not in a creepy, like, “I’m watching you” sort of way. I just — I’ve noticed you.

RORY: Me?

DEAN: Yeah.

RORY: When?

DEAN: Every day. After school you come out and you sit under that tree there and you read. Last week it was Madame Bovary. This week it’s Moby Dick.

Keith: *To Janie* To be honest… I’ve noticed you since the week before. I noticed that you hang with a group of girls. 2 rich girls, A yearning Troubadour in waiting, A sparky girl with a lot of wit. Yeah. I noticed you. You’re rather a interesting person to watch. Rather beautiful too.

Janie: I am?

Keith: You bet.

RORY: But why would you —

DEAN: Because you’re nice to look at, and because you’ve got unbelievable concentration.

RORY: What?

DEAN: Last Friday these two guys were tossing around a ball and one guy nailed the other right in the face. I mean, it was a mess, blood everywhere, the nurse came out, the place was in chaos, his girlfriend was all freaking out, and you just sat there and read. I mean, you never even looked up. I thought, “I have never seen anyone read so intensely before in my entire life. I have to meet that girl.”

RORY: Maybe I just didn’t look up because I’m unbelievably self-centered.

DEAN: Maybe, but I doubt it.

They smile at each other.

Peter: *To Alex* you’ve got unbelievable concentration.

Alex: I do?

Peter: When you happen to be reading… Yeah. You do.

Alex: How so?

Peter: Last Friday these guys were Shooting hoops and one guy nailed the other right in the face. Like Wham! I mean, it was a mess, There was blood everywhere, the nurse came out, the place was in chaos, his girlfriend was all freaking out, and you just sat there and read. You didn’t even flinch. Not even once. I mean, you never even looked up. I thought, “I have never seen anyone read so intensely and undisturbed before in my entire life. I have to meet that girl.”

RORY: So, did I ask if you like cake?

DEAN: Yeah, you did.

RORY: Oh. ‘Cause they have really good cake back there.

The girls all smile at the guys and the guys were at ease towards them. It was like they met their equals and didn’t even know it. Rory was apparently attracted to Dean. However… Would that change their thrill and anticipation towards going to Chilton? What about their friends Leslie and Betty? Their cousins Zoey and Blossom? Were they gonna soon discover the spur of the moment surprise? When? Find out what’s to come in the Next Chapter of the Adventures of the Rhapsody Girls Z! As the saga continues…

Leave a Reply

