Chapter 245: A Parental visit is Lorelai’s selling herself up for desperation.

(Dinah Pulls a string and finds herself in the bind along with Lorelai. What just happened?)

(As the time goes… Rory and the Rhapsody Trio Embark their likely last day at Metropolis High.)

(Zoey goes on the edge of morality and develops thoughts of dropping out of school.)

Lorelai stares at pictures on the mantle…

The Next day…

ELDER GILMORE House…

Lorelai sits on the runner of her Jeep outside a large, imposing house.  Lorelai is standing on the porch.

The door opens…

LORELAI: Hi, Mom.

EMILY: Lorelai, my goodness, this is a surprise. Is it Easter already?

LORELAI: *laughs nervously* No, I just, uh, finished up my business class and I thought I would stop by.

EMILY: To see me?

LORELAI: Yes.

EMILY: Well, isn’t that nice. Come in.

LORELAI: Thanks.

Emily: Oh… And bring your friend along with you. I do see that you brought someone with you.

Lorelai: *Pauses* Huh? *Looking to see Dinah* Dinah?!

Dinah: Surprise… Lorelai… I know that you said to spare myself from being pulled into a web. But as your friend… Your battle… is my battle. I won’t let you go it alone. *Walking over to the door and Looking to see an older woman* Oh… I’ll guess that… that’s your mother.

Lorelai: Yeah. She is. *Looking at her mom and then at Dinah* Mom… This is my friend… Dinah Rhapsody. Dinah… this is my mother. Emily Gilmore.

Emily: *Pauses* Rhapsody? My god… You wouldn’t happen to be the one that the Hartford press called the Thunderic Loose wire… would you?

Dinah: *Laughs* No… no. I’ve been known as “Danger Zone” Dinah. But The thunderic Loose wire… does have a rather nice ring to it. Pleasure to meet you, Mrs. Gilmore. I’m Lorelai’s friend. She… and I have come to see you. Lorelai was a little bit unsure. However… I am a fond believer of family. Families have issues. And the illusion of a perfect family… it’s all a smoke screen because there isn’t any family that’s perfect.

Emily: Seems adequately factual. You’ve got a good point there. Please… do come in.

She walks inside and they walk to the living room…

LORELAI: The place looks great.

EMILY: It hasn’t changed.

Dinah: *Looking around and seeing the Old English furniture* Whoa! The Furniture looks really Aristocratic. Almost like the Burke Family Mansion.

Emily: Burke? As in Carl and Elizabeth Burke?

Dinah: Yeah. You know them?

Emily: A little. Lorelai’s father… Richard has done some art deal with them the other month. Bought 4 Masterpieces from Mr. Burke. Each one a set price of 40,000 as they were one of a kind and mint condition.

Dinah: Sweet. That’s pretty awesome. I’ll have to ask Leslie sometime if she recalls of her parents or father doing business with your husband. I’m betting that will be a good story. But… I got to ask, Emily. Are most of the stuff and furniture here… Elizabethan or Aristocratic… Or Old English?

Emily: It’s a little of everything, Dinah. But i would guess that most of it is Old English Furniture.

Dinah: Hmm. Okay. Just thought i’d ask because there is alot of stuff here that has smacks of a portions of all three styles.

LORELAI: Well, there you go. How are the girls at the bridge club?

EMILY: Old.

LORELAI: Well…good.

Emily and Lorelai take seats opposite each other. Dinah Sits next to Lorelai…

EMILY: You said you were taking a business class?

LORELAI: Yeah, mmhmm, yeah. I’m taking a business class at the college twice a week. I’m sure I told you.

EMILY: Well, if you’re sure then you must have.

Long silence…

Emily: Would you like some tea?

LORELAI: I would love some coffee.

Dinah: Coffee for me as well… If it’d be okay.

Emily: Not at all.

Suddenly…

RICHARD: *calls from another room* Emily? I’m home.

EMILY: We’re in here.

Richard enters the room…

LORELAI: Hi, Dad.

RICHARD: What is it, Christmas already?

Dinah: *Thinking to herself* Wow… Discomforting much?

EMILY: Lorelai was taking a business class at the college today and decided to drop in to see us. She also bought a friend with her.

RICHARD: What business class?

EMILY: Well, she told us about it, dear, remember?

RICHARD: No. And… *Curious* She brought a friend, did she? Who’s the friend?

Emily: A young delighted woman. Dinah Rhapsody.

Richard: Dinah Rhapsody? As in the Head coach of the Metropolis Bulldogs at Metropolis University’s Bulldog Stadium Dinah Rhapsody? The proclaimed super powered persuaded fighter that the Hartford press dubbed “The Mistress of Thunder”?

Emily: That’s the one.

Richard: *Enthused and courteous* Well now… Dear young lady. *Looking at Dinah* It’s a delighted pleasure to meet you in person. Hear that you’ve made quite the exquisite name for yourself. *Walking over and motioning with shaking hands and Introducing himself* Richard Gilmore.

Dinah: *Returning the kind gesture* Dinah Rhapsody… It’s a pleasure. And the gesture is rather nice. Really. I am quite touched. However i don’t find it appropriate during this time as this is about What your daughter… Lorelai has come to lay down upon you.

Richard: I see. But be that as it may… You’re rather a mature young lady.

Dinah: Oh… stop. I’m not too too mature. I do have moments of acting a little strange. However… don’t we all have moments such as those?

Richard: Truly. You’re with good points. I aptly agree.

LORELAI: Well, actually, I came here for a reason. Dad, would you mind sitting down for a minute?

RICHARD: You need money.

LORELAI: I have a situation.

RICHARD: You need money.

LORELAI: Dad, will you just please let me get this out, okay? Um, Rory has been accepted to Chilton.

Dinah: As did my 3 girls Janie, Alex and Charlene. As a mother… I am so honorably proud of them.

EMILY: Chilton? Oh, that’s a wonderful school. It’s only five minutes from here.

LORELAI: That’s right, it is. She can start as early as Monday. Um, the problem is that they want me to put down an enrollment fee plus the first semester’s tuition, and I have to do that immediately or she loses her spot.

Dinah: As well as my daughters. I thought about asking my husband Shingo for help… But our savings have been tapped out from sending my oldest daughters Sapphire, Raven and Serena to College. Metropolis University. I couldn’t look to ask a family friend… Oliver Queen. He is going through his own bout of financial hardships. I don’t know of anyone else. to help. I thought that it would be rather fitting to ask the Burke’s. However… it would have sounded stupid and sad for a head coach to ask an Art guru for help towards ensuring her kids would be able to get her children through Chilton.

RICHARD: So, you need money.

LORELAI: Yeah. But it’s not for me, it’s for Rory. And I fully intend to pay you back every cent. I don’t ask for favors, you know that.

EMILY: Oh, yes, we know.

RICHARD: I’ll get the checkbook.

LORELAI: Thank you. You have no idea. Thank you.

EMILY: On one condition.

Dinah: Condition? No. there shouldn’t be a condition. Despite whatever issues there may appear to be between you guys. Which granted… it’s none of my business. It shouldn’t be a means for a string attached to the means for helping a young bright girl into Chilton.

LORELAI: *mumbles to herself* So close.

EMILY: Since we are now financially involved in your life, I want to be actively involved in your life.

Dinah: In her life? Uh… Okay… I am lost here. Really? What do you mean actively involved in her life? Aren’t you guys already actively involved?

Richard: No. we’re not. Haven’t been since she left us when she was 16. She just cut us off. Denied us from being the least involved in either her or her daughter’s life.

Dinah: Really?!

Richard: *Not willing to say much more on the subject* …

LORELAI: What does that mean, Mother?

EMILY: I want a weekly dinner.

LORELAI: What?

EMILY: Friday nights, you and Rory will have dinner here. Dinah, You and your girls are cordially welcomed to join as well… if you like.

Dinah: You’re real kind, Mrs. Gilmore. I wouldn’t want to intrude though.

Emily: Don’t be silly. You wouldn’t be intruding at all.

LORELAI: Mom…

EMILY: And you have to call us once a week to give us an update on her schooling and your life. That’s it. That’s the condition. If you agree, you’ll come to dinner tomorrow night and leave here with a check. Otherwise, I’m sorry, we can’t help you. And Dinah… The strings attached only apply to Lorelai. There’s a long history of separation that happens to be between her and us.

Dinah: I’m sensing that. Kinda sad and really insensitive if you ask me. Of course… it’s only my opinion. It’s just rather unsettling.

LORELAI: I don’t want her to know that I borrowed money from you. Can that just be between us?

EMILY: Does seven o’clock work for you?

LORELAI: *with a forced smile* Perfect.

Dinah: I’ll be sure to be here by that time. Lorelai will too. She’s a good friend to me and i not leave her hanging.

At Metropolis High…

At break…

Zoey was walking with Leslie and Blossom. She had something come over her and happened to feel a breach of Morality. It was not common for a person to have it hit them over night. But she had this dream that she couldn’t shake.

Zoey Rhapsody

Zoey: *Walking with Leslie and Blossom; Sighing* …

Leslie Burke 19

Leslie: What’s bugging you, Zoey?

Zoey: Not sure. I just seem to be unable to shake this dream that i had come over me during the night last night.

Blossom Rhapsody 10

Blossom: A dream, huh? What was it?

Zoey: I don’t really know. It’s hazy. However… I have been thinking that suppose school isn’t me and that i’d be better off dropping out of school.

Leslie: What? You’re not serious… are you?

Zoey: Maybe. I am aware that school is very vital. However… I just don’t think that it’s the right thing for me.

Blossom: It’s the right thing. Uncle Zeke would be really upset if you were to just drop out of school.

Leslie: Plus… It isn’t right for you to be thinking over dropping out. You got 4 years of High school to go through. What would make you want to just bail on that and withdraw?

Zoey: I don’t know. I can’t really explain it. I am guessing that it’s because i have this need to spread music throughout the world. School isn’t the place for it and i believe that i am unable to be my real self. Ever since that time when i lost that power. The super power. I felt that something could be missing and i just never really figured out what it was.

Blossom: And you’re thinking that Music was what seemed to have been missing? You don’t figure that you’d seek on just dropping out and becoming a troubadour? Do you?

Leslie: Zoey… If being this Troubadour… is what you are siring to do… Do it. But don’t just drop from school and jeopardize your education in the process. It isn’t worth the loss of Education as you will need that to have doors open.

Zoey: What am i supposed to do, Leslie? I can’t back down from it. It’d be as if i don’t have it to commit.

Leslie: You do. You just have to be smart about it. Dropping out is not entirely a dumb move. Some people tend to pull it off by dropping out in order to do what they feel is in their hearts. But it doesn’t work for just everyone. You can’t expect to be guaranteed the prospect that everything will make sense in time. It won’t work that way. It never has. Take it from someone who’s been there. When i first came to Metropolis. I didn’t go to school. I played a lone wolf. The only reason i made it out okay… was because i… 1. was a rich girl. I had money to get me by. But i was also Emancipated for a time from my parents for reasons that are now in the past. I didn’t know where anything was. I was lost in the city. Nowhere to really go. Living for a time in a motel room. Living the best that i could. If anything at all. It was when i first Joined the Mob… later when i knew that i had to get myself back into school. I was not gonna make it otherwise. The Mob yes… gave me some power. But… it wasn’t the kind that i wished to hold on to. I found my own power. While i was working under them… i was also working out as my own individual. Dorian never knew. That’s how i kept it. *Pause* The point is… I made it work out somewhat. But i was lucky. Very Lucky. However… Again. It isn’t something that will work for everybody.

Zoey: What’ll i do? I can’t be in school… And be one who plays and spreads music too…

Blossom: Sure you can. You should know that you… you can do whatever you set your mind to. Anything.

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

